How’d I do?

Hello there thirty-eight year old me!

Tell me how’s it going?

hope it’s not all figured out it,

Because that means your life is hella boring.

Then again I hope you’ve got a lot of things figured out,

Because well, don’t we all want things figured out (just a teeny bit)?

So, I take it you made it to a place where you’re not afraid of walking

On water or on ice spread thin,

because if you fall through you’ll still be breathing.

That you get out of bed everyday and get things done.

That you’re everything you want to be.

That you gave yourself that long awaited compliment.

That you let go of some and held on tight to others.

Tell me, have you forgotten her or him?

Have you forgotten faces and names?

Have you held onto memories and the way things and people had made you feel?

Did you ever tell him? Or did you leave him be?

Did you watch the ones you love grow and be happy?

Help when needed?

Do you still cry in the shower?

Or when you’re sure you’re alone?

Do you let the emotions run through you,

And bottle up what doesn’t need to make a début?

Do you still get anxious sleeping past midnight’s hour?

Do you love with all of you?

Or have you forgotten how to?

Are your dreams still so vivid?

Is it your heart that you still follow?

Do you know where you’re going to go?

Are you still procrastinating and hesitating?

Did you write that book?

Are you still walking so slow,

Because you want the journey to take as long as it needs?

Did you grow into something that can’t be shaken?

Did you refuse to lose hold of all the pieces of you?

Did you lose pieces of me?

I hope that I make up your foundation.

That we changed for no one.

That we grew instead,

Into something spectacular.


Prompted from here 


Midnight Butterfly

One thought on “How’d I do?

  1. I am sure the 38 year old you would be great. Loved the bit:

    “That you’re everything you want to be.
    That you gave yourself that long awaited compliment.
    That you let go of some and held on tight to others.”

    Especially the last line. I hope she does that too. I hope I do too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

